Week 1: I’d like to Meet

I’ve signed up to do another year of blogs based on “52 Ancestors in 52 Weeks.” I plan to play fast and loose – even faster and looser than last year. I like the prompts – they get me thinking. But sometimes I come up empty. This first week is an example. I gave it some thought. I’d like to meet my mom’s mom, who died when Mom was in college. She could have told me about what my mom was like as a child. Maybe she could answer some questions about her difficult marriage. Fill me in on some of the scandals of her own upbringing.

My mom’s mom

I’d like to meet my great-grandparents – 6 of the 8 lived abroad. I can’t imagine what it was like to have your 18 or 19 year old child emigrate, and never see them again. My kids all live in other states (and sometimes countries) – but we have cars and planes, and Facetime, and phone calls. It’s still hard to say goodbye to them after the holidays.

My paternal grandmother’s family left behind in Sweden.

And then there are the earlier generations – I’d love to gain insight into how they lived, what they were concerned about – did they spend more time on politics, or on getting their next meal? How did they handle the loss of a child or a young spouse? How did they weather the storm of scandal?

My paternal Great-grandfather (on right) and his father (left) in Sweden.

I’d like to meet some of the other folks I research, too – ancestors of friends and relatives, folks buried at Oakland Cemetery. Certainly there are the fascinating “characters,” but I’d also like to know more about the silent ones, who lived quiet, unassuming lives. Were their struggles less intense – or more?

And that’s why I want to write this blog. To meet them all.

There’s a story told of a young child intent on a drawing he was making. His mother asked what he was drawing? He said, “God.” She said, “But no one knows what God looks like.” He said, “They will when I’m done.”

Likewise, as I get to know these folks better, I’ll introduce them to you. I know they’ll be pleased to meet you!

Leave a Comment